List Of Prime Minister Of Pakistan (2024 Updated)

flag of the Prime Minister of Pakistan transparent

Last Updated: 20 April 2024

The Prime Minister of Pakistan is the constitutional head of government of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, designated as the Chief Executive of the Islamic Republic.

Pakistan’s Prime Minister leads the executive branch of the Federal Government, oversees the State Economy, leads the National Assembly, heads the Council of Common Interests as well as the Cabinet, and is charged with leading the National Command Authority over Pakistan’s nuclear weapons arsenal.

The Constitution of Pakistan vests Executive Powers in the Prime Minister, who is responsible for appointing the Cabinet as well as running the Executive Branch, taking and authorizing Executive Decisions, Appointments, and recommendations that require Prime Ministerial confirmation.

Prime Minister Of Pakistan At A Glance

1Prime MinisterShehbaz Sharif
2StatusHead of Government
4Style1) The Honourable
2) Mr. Prime Minister (Informal)
3) His Excellency (Diplomatic)
5Member Of1) Cabinet
2) National Assembly
3) Common Interests Council
6Reports To1) President of Pakistan
2) Parliament of Pakistan
7SeatIslamabad Capital Territory
8AppointerElection Commission of Pakistan through General Elections
9Term length5 Years
10Constituting InstrumentConstitution of Pakistan
11Formation14 August 1947
12SalaryRs 24.12 lakh (US$11,000) Annually
13Inaugural holderLiaquat Ali Khan (14 Aug 1947-16 Oct 1951)
14ResidencePrime Minister’s Office, Red Zone, Islamabad

10 Facts About Prime Minister Of Pakistan

  • Since 1947, Pakistan has had 20 Individual Prime Ministers, Nawaz Sharif of Pakistan Muslim League (N) has held office for 3 non-consecutive terms and Benazir Bhutto of Pakistan Peoples Party has held office for 2 non-consecutive terms.
  • Only 1 female has held the post of Prime Minister of Pakistan; Benazir Bhutto (2 Dec 1988-6 Aug 1990 and 19 Oct 1993-5 Nov 1996).
  • Yousaf Raza Gilani of the Pakistan Peoples Party had the longest consecutive term of 4 years and 86 days while Nurul Amin of the Muslim League had the shortest term of 13 days.
  • At approximately 9 years and 179 days in total, Nawaz Sharif of Pakistan Muslim League (N) has been the longest-serving Prime Minister for a non-consecutive term.
  • After the partition of British India on the midnight of 14/15 August 1947, Pakistan followed the British system by creating the post of Prime Minister based at the Prime Minister’s Secretariat.
  • In Pakistan’s parliamentary system, the Prime Minister is sworn in by the President and usually is the Chairman or the President of the Party or Coalition that has a majority in the National Assembly, the Lower House of the Pakistan Parliament.
  • Before the Presidential system in 1960, seven Prime Ministers had served between 1947 until martial law in 1958.
  • Executive powers and authority were given to the Prime Minister when the full set of the Constitution of Pakistan was promulgated in 1973 but the post was ceased from its effective operations after another martial law in 1977.
  • In July 2017, Nawaz Sharif was disqualified as Prime Minister following corruption charges against him resulting from the Panama Papers leak which also forced Iceland’s Prime Minister to resign.
  • On 10 April 2022, a constitutional crisis culminated in Imran Khan’s ministry losing a motion of no confidence with 174 votes cast against him, ending his premiership and making him the first Prime Minister of Pakistan to be removed from office through a motion of no confidence.

Prime Minister Of Pakistan Party Classification

No.Political PartyCount
1Awami League1
2Muslim League5
3Muslim League (N)3
4Muslim League (Q)3
5Pakistan Muslim League1
6Pakistan Peoples Party4
7Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf1
8Republican Party1

List Of Prime Minister Of Pakistan

No.Prime MinisterTerm InTerm OutParty
1Liaquat Ali Khan
نوابزادہ لیاقت علی خان
(4 Years 63 Days)
14 Aug 194716 Oct 1951Muslim League
2Sir Khawaja Nazimuddin
خواجہ ناظم الدین
(1 Year 182 Days)
17 Oct 195117 Apr 1953Muslim League
3Mohammad Ali Bogra
محمد علی بوگرہ
(2 Years 117 Days)
17 Apr 195312 Aug 1955Muslim League
4Chaudhry Mohammad Ali
چوہدری محمد علی
(1 Year 31 Days)
12 Aug 195512 Sep 1956Muslim League
5Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy
حسین شہید سہروردی
(1 Year 35 Days)
12 Sep 195617 Oct 1957Awami League
6Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar
ابراہیم اسماعیل چندریگر
(55 Days)
17 Oct 195711 Dec 1957Muslim League
7Sir Feroze Khan Noon
فیروز خان نون
(295 Days)
16 Dec 195707 Oct 1958Republican Party
8Nurul Amin
نور الامین
(13 Days)
07 Dec 197120 Dec 1971Pakistan Muslim League
9Zulfikar Ali Bhutto
ذولفقار علی بھٹو
(3 Years 325 Days)
14 Aug 197305 Jul 1977Pakistan Peoples
10Muhammad Khan Junejo
محمد خان جنیجو
(3 Years 66 Days)
24 Mar 198529 May 1988Independent
11Benazir Bhutto
بے نظیر بھٹو
(1 Year 247 Days)
02 Dec 198806 Aug 1990Pakistan Peoples
12Nawaz Sharif
میاں محمد نواز شریف
(2 Years 254 Days)
06 Nov 199018 Jul 1993Pakistan Muslim
League (N)
~Benazir Bhutto
بے نظیر بھٹو
(3 Years 17 Days)
19 Oct 199305 Nov 1996Pakistan Peoples
~Nawaz Sharif
میاں محمد نواز شریف
(2 Years 237 Days)
17 Feb 199712 Oct 1999Pakistan Muslim
League (N)
13Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali
میر ظفر اللہ خان جمالی
(1 Year 216 Days)
23 Nov 200226 Jun 2004Pakistan Muslim
League (Q)
14Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain
چوہدری شجاعت حسین
(54 Days)
30 Jun 200423 Aug 2004Pakistan Muslim
League (Q)
15Shaukat Aziz
شوکت عزیز
(3 Years 79 Days)
28 Aug 200415 Nov 2007Pakistan Muslim
League (Q)
16Yousaf Raza Gillani
سید یوسف رضا گیلانی
(4 Years 86 Days)
25 Mar 200819 Jun 2012Pakistan Peoples
17Raja Pervaiz Ashraf
راجا پرویز اشرف
(275 Days)
22 Jun 201224 Mar 2013Pakistan Peoples
~Nawaz Sharif
میاں محمد نواز شریف
(4 Years 53 Days)
05 Jun 201328 Jul 2017Pakistan Muslim
League (N)
18Shahid Khaqan Abbasi
شاہد خاقان عباسی
(303 Days)
01 Aug 201731 May 2018Pakistan Muslim
League (N)
19Imran Khan
عمران خان
(3 Years 235 Days)
18 Aug 201810 Apr 2022Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf
20Shehbaz Sharif
میاں محمد شہباز شریف
11 Apr 2022~Pakistan Muslim
League (N)

Living Former Prime Ministers Of Pakistan

No.Prime MinisterTenure
1Shujaat Hussain
Pakistan Muslim
League (Q)
28 Aug 2004 – 15 Nov 2007
2Shaukat Aziz
Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
28 Aug 2004 – 15 Nov 2007
3Yousaf Raza Gillani
Pakistan Peoples Party
25 Mar 2008 – 19 Jun 2012
4Raja Pervaiz Ashraf
Pakistan Peoples Party
22 Jun 2012 – 24 Mar 2013
5Nawaz Sharif
Pakistan Muslim League (N)
05 Jun 2013 – 28 Jul 2017
6Shahid Khaqan Abbasi
Pakistan Muslim League (N)
01 Aug 2017 – 31 May 2018
7Imran Khan
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf
18 Aug 2018 – 10 Apr 2022

Questions On Prime Minister Of Pakistan

1. Who is the Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Shehbaz Sharif (Since 11 April 2022)

2. Who was the first Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Liaquat Ali Khan (14 Aug 1947-16 Oct 1951)

3. Who is the only female Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Benazir Bhutto

4. Who is the former Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Imran Khan (18 Aug 2018-10 Apr 2022)

5. Who is the new Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Shehbaz Sharif

6. Who is the longest-serving Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Nawaz Sharif (3 Terms)
1) 06 Nov 1990 – 18 Jul 1993
2) 17 Feb 1997 – 12 Oct 1999
3) 05 Jun 2013 – 28 Jul 2017

7. Who is the shortest-serving Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Nurul Amin (13 Days)

8. Who is the longest-serving Prime Minister of Pakistan in a single term?

Answer: Yousaf Raza Gillani (4 Years 86 Days)

9. Who is the 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan?

Answer: Shehbaz Sharif

10. Who is the first Prime Minister of Pakistan to be removed from office through a motion of no confidence?

Answer: Imran Khan

Read More Interesting Articles