List Of Canadian Provinces And Territories With Capitals 2023

Canadian Provinces And Territories

Last Updated: 21 March 2023

Canadian Provinces And Territories are sub-national divisions within the Geographical Areas of Canada under the jurisdiction of the Canadian Constitution.

Canada, a country in the northern part of North America is made up of Thirteen Administrative Divisions: Ten Provinces and Three Territories.

The different levels of Government in Canada are based on the Principles of a Federation.

Fact Check

  • The Capital of Canada is Ottawa.
  • The 10 Provinces and 3 Territories extend from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean and northward into the Arctic Ocean.
  • The Total Area of Canada is 9.985 Million Km2.
  • Canada is the World’s Second-Largest Country by Total Area.
  • Canada has the World’s Longest Bi-National Land Border (8,891 Km) with the United States on the south and western side.
  • The 3 largest Metropolitan Areas of Canada are Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver.
  • France ceded nearly all the colonies in North America in 1763.
  • Canada was formed as a Federal Dominion of Four Provinces.
  • The Premier (Canada) is the head of the Government of a Province or Territory.
  • The House of Commons of Canada is the Lower House of the Bicameral Parliament of Canada.

Here is a list of the Provinces and Territories, with their Capitals, Total Area, and Confederation Date.

List Of Canadian Provinces And Territories


No.ProvinceCapitalArea (Km2)Confederation
1AlbertaEdmonton661,848Sep 1, 1905
2British ColumbiaVictoria944,735July 20, 1871
3ManitobaWinnipeg647,797Jul 15, 1870
4New BrunswickFredericton72,908July 1, 1867
5Newfoundland and LabradorSt. John’s405,212Mar 31, 1949
6Nova ScotiaHalifax55,284July 1, 1867
7OntarioToronto1,076,395July 1, 1867
8Prince Edward IslandCharlottetown5,660July 1, 1873
9QuebecQuebec City1,542,056July 1, 1867
10SaskatchewanRegina651,036Sep 1, 1905


No.TerritoryCapitalArea (Km2)Confederation
1Northwest TerritoriesYellowknife1,346,106July 15, 1870
2NunavutIqaluit2,093,190April 1, 1999
3YukonWhitehorse482,443June 13, 1898

Related: List Of International Organizations & Top Institutions Headquarters

Provincial Governments

No.ProvincePremierParty In GovernmentLieutenant Governor
1AlbertaDanielle SmithUnited ConservativeSalma Lakhani
2British ColumbiaJohn HorganNew DemocraticJanet Austin
3ManitobaHeather StefansonProgressive ConservativeAnita Neville
4New BrunswickBlaine HiggsProgressive ConservativeBrenda Murphy
5Newfoundland and LabradorAndrew FureyLiberalJudy Foote
6Nova ScotiaTim HoustonProgressive ConservativeArthur Joseph LeBlanc
7OntarioDoug FordProgressive ConservativeElizabeth Dowdeswell
8Prince Edward IslandDennis KingProgressive ConservativeAntoinette Perry
9QuebecFrançois LegaultCoalition Avenir QuébecJ. Michel Doyon
10SaskatchewanScott MoeSaskatchewan PartyRussell Mirasty

Territorial Governments

No.TerritoryPremierParty In governmentCommissioner
1Northwest TerritoriesCaroline CochraneConsensus GovernmentMargaret Thom
2NunavutP.J. AkeeagokConsensus GovernmentEva Aariak
3YukonSandy SilverLiberalAngélique Bernard
Who Doesn’t Like Extra Knowledge, Right?

Total Area Of Provinces

The Total Area of a Province or Territory is the sum of its Land Area and the Area of its Internal Water (Freshwater only).

No.ProvinceLand (Km2)Water (Km2)Total Area(Km2)
2British Columbia925,18619,549944,735
4New Brunswick71,4501,45872,908
5Newfoundland and Labrador373,87231,340405,212
6Nova Scotia53,3381,94655,284
8Prince Edward Island5,66005,660

Total Area Of Territories

No.TerritoryLand (Km2)Water (Km2)Total Area(Km2)
1Northwest Territories1,183,085163,0211,346,106

Related: Online GK Quiz – Test Your General Knowledge IQ

Government Of Provinces

No.ProvinceLegislatureLower HouseHead Of GovernmentViceroy
1AlbertaLegislatureLegislative AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
2British ColumbiaParliamentLegislative AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
3ManitobaLegislatureLegislative AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
4New BrunswickLegislatureLegislative AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
5Newfoundland and LabradorGeneral AssemblyHouse of AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
6Nova ScotiaGeneral AssemblyHouse of AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
7OntarioParliamentLegislative AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
8Prince Edward IslandGeneral AssemblyLegislative AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
9QuebecLegislatureNational AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor
10SaskatchewanLegislatureLegislative AssemblyPremierLieutenant Governor

Government Of Territories

No.TerritoryLegislatureLower HouseHead Of GovernmentViceroy
1Northwest TerritoriesAssemblyLegislative AssemblyPremierCommissioner
2NunavutLegislatureLegislative AssemblyPremierCommissioner
3YukonAssemblyLegislative AssemblyPremierCommissioner
Good Articles To Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here