List Of Blue States And Red States In The United States (2024)

Blue States and Red States

Last Updated: 5 March 2024

Before you read the Blue States and the Red States list, let’s find out how the naming of a state with color started!

The Blue States and the Red States are referred to as states of the U.S. whose voters predominantly choose either the Democratic Party (Blue) or Republican Party (Red) for Presidential and Senatorial Candidates.

The use of the term Blue or Red has been expanded to differentiate between states being perceived as Liberal and those perceived as Conservative. It is now seen that the “Democratic Blue” and “Republican Red” color scheme is now part of the lexicon of American journalism.

However, the fun fact is that neither of the party national committees has officially accepted these color designations, though informal use by each party is becoming common.

Nevertheless, both parties have adopted logos that use their respective colors i.e., a blue “D” for Democrats and a white “GOP” with a red elephant for Republicans.

The following list is tabled from the last Presidential Election 2020. (This list is made as per the party winner of the Presidential election in each state [Not Governor], Here the Red represents Donald Trump whereas the Blue represents Joe Biden).

List Of Blue States And Red States

No.Blue StatesNo.Red States
15New Hampshire15North Carolina
16New Jersey16North Dakota
17New Mexico17Ohio
18New York18Oklahoma
19Oregon19South Carolina
20Pennsylvania20South Dakota
21Rhode Island21Tennessee
24Washington24West Virginia

Related: List Of US States And Their Capitals In Alphabetical Order With PDF

All 50 States of the United States of America contain both Democratic and Republican voters but only Blue or Red colors appear on the electoral map because of the winner-take-all system used by most states in the Electoral College.

Fascinating Facts

  • The Red-Blue terminology was popularized in 2000.
  • From the 2000-2004 election only three states changed “Color”.
  • As of 2020, fully 35 out of 50 states in the U.S. have voted for the same party in every presidential election since the red-blue terminology was popularized in 2000.
  • The state of Maine has seen supporters from both Democrats and Republican voters but the majority of Democrats voters, therefore, it is referred to as Blue State while Nebraska state saw a majority of voters from Republicans hence it is referred to as Red State.
  • The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee alluded to the color scheme when it launched a national “Red to Blue Program” in 2006.[1]
Read More


  1. Hey there! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

  2. Well, Arizona is still counting and there’s enough coming in to turn the state. Also, there’s a run off in Georgia so you may have two strikes incorrect.

  3. This is nice, but you do realize that Maryland has elected Republican governors 3 of the last 5 elections and currently has a Republican sitting in the capital.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here