List Of The First Woman Of India In Politics (2024 Updated)

First Woman In Indian Politics

Last Updated: 6 January 2024

The First Woman in various fields of politics had done game-changing work in many areas of interest.

Indira Gandhi is an Iconic figure who held many roles in Indian Polity.

Read all List Of The First Woman Of India In Politics, the Positions that they held, and the great works done for the Country.

List Of The First Woman Of India In Politics

Table 1

1First Woman PresidentPratibha Devisingh Patil
2First Woman Prime MinisterIndira Gandhi
3The First Woman to present the Union BudgetIndira Gandhi
4First Female Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Fathima Beevi
5First Lady Chief Justice of the High CourtLeila Seth
6First Female Deputy Chairman of Rajya SabhaViolet Alva
7First Lady Speaker of the Lok SabhaMeira Kumar
8First Female Speaker of a State AssemblyShanno Devi
9First Female Cabinet MinisterRajkumari Amrit Kaur
10First Woman Chief MinisterSucheta Kripalani
11First Muslim Woman Chief MinisterAnwara Taimur
12First Female GovernorSarojini Naidu
13First Woman Health MinisterRajkumari Amrit Kaur
14First Woman Member of ParliamentAnnie Mascarene
15First-First Lady of IndiaRajvanshi Devi Prasad
16First Female President of the United Nations General AssemblyVijaya Lakshmi Pandit
17First Woman Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA)Muthulakshmi Reddy
18First Woman Leader of the Lok Sabha Indira Gandhi
19First Woman Chief Election CommissionerV. S. Ramadevi 
20First Female High Court JudgeAnna Chandy

Table 2

1First Woman Minister of External AffairsIndira Gandhi 
2First Woman Minister of Home AffairsIndira Gandhi 
3First Woman Minister of DefenceIndira Gandhi 
4First Woman Minister of Information and BroadcastingIndira Gandhi 
5First Woman Minister of FinanceIndira Gandhi 
6First Woman Leader of the Opposition in Lok SabhaSonia Gandhi
7First Woman Minister of Women and Child DevelopmentMamata Banerjee
8First Woman Minister of Minority AffairsNajma Heptullah
9First Woman Minister of RailwaysMamata Banerjee
10First Woman Chief Election Commissioner of IndiaV. S. Ramadevi 
11First Woman Home Minister of the Andhra PradeshSabitha Indra Reddy
12First Woman Governor of Andhra Pradesh Sharada Mukherjee 
13First Female Chief Minister of AssamAnwara Taimur
14First Woman Chief Minister of BiharRabri Devi
15First Female Mayor of DelhiAruna Asaf Ali
16First female Chief Minister of DelhiSushma Swaraj
17First Woman Longest-Serving Female Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit
18First Woman Chief Minister of GoaShashikala Kakodkar 
19First Woman Governor of GujaratSharada Mukherjee 
20First Woman Governor of Himachal PradeshSheila Kaul

Read: New Union Cabinet Ministers Of India List With PDF (2024)

Table 3

1First Woman Governor of KarnatakaV.S. Ramadevi
2First Woman Governor of KeralaJothi Venkatachalam
3First Woman Chief Minister of Madhya PradeshUma Bharati
4First Woman Governor of MaharashtraVijayalakshmi Pandit
5First Woman Chief Minister of OdishaNandini Satpathy
6First Woman Chief Minister of PunjabRajinder Kaur Bhattal 
7First Woman Chief Minister of RajasthanVasundhara Raje 
8First Woman Governor of Rajasthan Pratibha Patil 
9First Woman Chief Minister of Tamil NaduJanaki Ramachandran
10First Woman Governor of Tamil NaduFatima Beevi
11First Woman Governor of UttarakhandMargaret Alva
12First Female Chief Minister of Uttar PradeshSucheta Kriplani
13First Woman Governor of Uttar PradeshSarojini Naidu
14First Female Chief Minister of West BengalMamata Banerjee 
15First Woman Governor of West BengalPadmaja Naidu
Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here